The Union Territory of Puducherry is spread over an area of 492 Sq.Km., which constitutes of the four erstwhile French establishments of Puducherry, Karaikal, Mahe and Yanam. The total population of the UT of Puducherry is 9,74,375 as per the 2001 census. The city of Puducherry located in the Puducherry region serves as the capital of the Union Territory

Puducherry region, which is the largest of all the four, lies on the east-coast, consisting of 12 scattered areas, surrounded by the State of Tamil Nadu and by the Bay of Bengal on the east. It is located around 150 Kms south of Chennai.

Karaikal region is about 150 Kms south of Puducherry. Like Puducherry region, the Karaikal region is also surrounded by the State of Tamil Nadu and by the Bay of Bengal on the East.

Mahe region is located at about 653 Kms west of Puducherry, on the west-coast near Tellicherry in Kerala.

Yanam region is located at about 840 Kms north east of Puducherry, on the east-coast near Kakinada in Andhra Pradesh.

The Union Territory has semi-arid type of climate, with a mean annual temperature of around 30° C and 70-85% relative humidity, is prevalent in the Union Territory. While Puducherry, Karaikal and Yanam region receive rain mostly through North - East monsoon, Mahe region benefits from the South-West monsoon.

The Electricity Department of Government of Puducherry is a deemed licensee under Section 14 of Electricity Act, 2003 and is carrying on the business of Transmission, Distribution and retail supply of Electricity in Puducherry, Karaikal, Yanam and Mahe Regions of the Union Territory of Puducherry. With all the Towns and villages electrified in as early as 1972, the Union Territory is 100% fully electrified. The business of generation of Electricity in the Union Territory of Puducherry is being carried out by the Puducherry Power Corporation Limited, an undertaking wholly owned by the Government of Puducherry. The Puducherry power Corporation Limited presently operates a 33 MW gas power plant in Karaikal region.